A page stub is a breakdown of an employee’s earnings in a pay period. The federal law and some State laws require that employers keep accurate records of hours worked, and wages paid for each employee.
What if you have worked and it’s your payday, but you don’t receive your paystub, not from your manager or not in your work mail? There’s no need to panic.
This article will cover why you haven’t received your paystub, using a check stub maker, why you shouldn’t panic if you haven’t received yours and what you should do.
What is a paystub?
To give a little back story, a Pay stub is a little piece of paper that shows proof of your earnings for a given period. The information on it is essential for budget planning and financial requirements.
Does your employer have to provide paystubs?
Yes. An employer must provide an employee with a statement of earnings at the end of each pay period that shows the base rate of an employee’s wage (e.g., $30 per hour or $300 bi-weekly), total working hours per week, total straight time earnings, any additions or deduction, and overall wages paid period.
Employers who find it difficult can opt for a check stub maker that is fast and automated.
Is it illegal not to get a paystub?
No, it is necessarily not illegal. The Federal law of the Fair Labour Standards Act (FLSA) only requires that employers must keep information on all employees pay for at least three years.
It is only unlawful for employers to show paystubs that they know are false or misleading. You can sue your employer to court if you notice the figures are misleading.
Paystub requirement by state
There is no solid federal law on providing pay stubs, but most states have their own laws requiring employers to provide access to them. The state’s requirement can be divided into five.
- States with no pay stub requirements: E.g., Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Ohio, South Dakota, Tennessee
- States that require access to pay stubs: This state requires employers to provide at least some kind of access either electronically or by paper. The employee must be able to easily print the electronic paystub, E.g., Alaska, Nevada, New York, New Jersey, Utah and more. Most US states operate access requirements.
- Written or printed states: Just like access, employers must give them access to print their information out. E.g., California, Colorado, Texas, Iowa, New Mexico. Washington
- Opt-out States. Employees have the option to receive their paystubs in paper format regardless of if the employer prefers to give them electronically. E.g. Delaware, Minnesota, and Oregon.
- Opt-in States. Employees must give consent to their employer that they agree to a paperless system of a paystub. E.g., Hawaii
What should you do if your employer doesn’t give you a paystub.
- Check in with your employer to see what kind of paystub system the company operates.
- Check in with your local state to know the legal requirement.
- If the requirement gives you access, and your employer refuses to give access, then you may have the option to sue your employer to get the information.
As an employer, you should provide your employee with a pay stub. However, it can be challenging to create a paystub manually. You can create one with a check stub maker using realcheckstubs.